Fast Running Blog
June 20, 2024, 11:52:47 pm *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: SMF - Just Installed!

Home   Help Search Calendar Login Register FAST RUNNING BLOG  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: First 1/2 Marathon  (Read 3005 times)
Travis Goss
Lurker

« on: June 06, 2011, 09:18:04 am »

I ran my first half marathon on June 4th,  Hospital Hill run in Kansas City.  My time was 1:43:20.  This was only my 2nd competitive race the first being a small 5K which I ran in 21 minutes.  I am a beginner and was wondering how ya'll think my time was for my first time.  I would like to eventually qualify for the Boston Marathon,  and also make the Fort Leonard Wood team for the Army 10 miler.  As of right now it looks like I need to run under 1:05 to have a chance to make the team.  I'm looking for any advice. 
Joe
Lurker

« Reply #1 on: June 06, 2011, 05:54:21 pm »

Hey Travis, congrats on your half marathon and nice running.  Hopefully some smarter runners than me chime in with advice, but I would say to run more miles.  From what I can tell that is the secret - just add a mile or 2 each week and run a lot.  Very unscientific but it's worked for me.  Click on the "mileage board" link and look at the people who run the most - then look at their race times!