Bret Running Blog at FastRunningBlog.Com http://Bret.fastrunningblog.com/ Thu, 24 Jun 2021 06:56:05 FeedCreator 1.7.2 Thu, Jun 24, 2021 http://Bret.fastrunningblog.com/blog-06-24-2021.html <p>AM - 4 easy miles early before my return flight to ATL.&nbsp;</p> Thu, 24 Jun 2021 06:00:00 Wed, Jun 23, 2021 http://Bret.fastrunningblog.com/blog-06-23-2021.html <p>AM - 5.5 miles or so with a co-worker from Chicago - we ran along the Hudson River for a bit. &nbsp; Big day for my company - IPO -&nbsp;the opening bell ceremony at the Nasdaq. &nbsp;Exciting stuff.&nbsp;</p> Wed, 23 Jun 2021 06:00:00 Tue, Jun 22, 2021 http://Bret.fastrunningblog.com/blog-06-22-2021.html <p>AM - in NYC for business - just under 8 miles from my hotel and around central park. &nbsp; I pushed the pace a bit too much in spots - given the humid conditions. &nbsp; The buildings messed with the gps on my watch too - so not sure just how much distance I covered - the first mile showed a split of just over 2 mins 30 seconds :). &nbsp;</p> Tue, 22 Jun 2021 06:00:00 Mon, Jun 21, 2021 http://Bret.fastrunningblog.com/blog-06-21-2021.html <p>AM - 4 slow miles this morning in some heavy humid air. &nbsp;Not feeling it today. &nbsp;</p> Mon, 21 Jun 2021 06:00:00 Sun, Jun 20, 2021 http://Bret.fastrunningblog.com/blog-06-20-2021.html <p>AM - 6.75 miles with Dan and the dogs - dodged a few raindrops as the area is blanketed with the remnants of a tropical storm from the gulf passes through. &nbsp;</p> Sun, 20 Jun 2021 06:00:00 Sat, Jun 19, 2021 http://Bret.fastrunningblog.com/blog-06-19-2021.html <p>AM - 6.25 miles with the guys and the dogs on the trails. &nbsp;</p> Sat, 19 Jun 2021 06:00:00 Fri, Jun 18, 2021 http://Bret.fastrunningblog.com/blog-06-18-2021.html <p>AM - 5.25 miles with Dan and the dogs - he&#39;s back in town for the weekend. &nbsp; Nice time&nbsp;catching up and running on the golf course. &nbsp;</p> Fri, 18 Jun 2021 06:00:00 Thu, Jun 17, 2021 http://Bret.fastrunningblog.com/blog-06-17-2021.html <p>AM - 3.5 miles with Finn on Summit/Brittle trails - when I got a text alert on my watch that there was a water leak in my basement - so I had to cut it short and get back home. &nbsp; Having an issue with a bad check valve in my basement sink pump - with the water coming back up the sink instead of out to the septic tank...yuck. &nbsp;Helpful to have leak detector devices set up to mitigate water damage - but also, it ruined an otherwise enjoyable run. &nbsp;</p> Thu, 17 Jun 2021 06:00:00 Wed, Jun 16, 2021 http://Bret.fastrunningblog.com/blog-06-16-2021.html <p>AM - 5.25 miles with Finn before my workday. &nbsp;Much cooler out today - though that did not help today with my pace. &nbsp;&nbsp;</p> Wed, 16 Jun 2021 06:00:00 Tue, Jun 15, 2021 http://Bret.fastrunningblog.com/blog-06-15-2021.html <p>AM - just under 6.25 miles with Finn - hilly but I felt stronger today. &nbsp;Passed a high school aged runner going uphill on the Milton trail - small victory for an old guy. &nbsp;</p> Tue, 15 Jun 2021 06:00:00 Mon, Jun 14, 2021 http://Bret.fastrunningblog.com/blog-06-14-2021.html <p>AM - 5.5 sluggish miles with Finn - to be fair it was a little hilly - but also my legs felt leaden and it was very humid. &nbsp;</p> Mon, 14 Jun 2021 06:00:00 Sun, Jun 13, 2021 http://Bret.fastrunningblog.com/blog-06-13-2021.html <p>AM - 7 miles on the treadmill- late afternoon. &nbsp; Too hot for a run outside. &nbsp;</p> Sun, 13 Jun 2021 06:00:00 Sat, Jun 12, 2021 http://Bret.fastrunningblog.com/blog-06-12-2021.html <p>AM - 5.25 miles with Finn and partly with Dan.&nbsp;</p> Sat, 12 Jun 2021 06:00:00 Fri, Jun 11, 2021 http://Bret.fastrunningblog.com/blog-06-11-2021.html <p>AM - 4 miles with Dan and the dogs- we did a walk run because Dan was sick and his calf was tight &nbsp;&nbsp;</p> <p>&nbsp;</p> Fri, 11 Jun 2021 06:00:00 Thu, Jun 10, 2021 http://Bret.fastrunningblog.com/blog-06-10-2021.html <p>AM - 6 miles mostly on the golf course with Finn. &nbsp;Been battling horseflies the last two mornings...</p> Thu, 10 Jun 2021 06:00:00 Wed, Jun 09, 2021 http://Bret.fastrunningblog.com/blog-06-09-2021.html <p>AM - 6 hilly miles with Finn before my workday started - very humid still, but a nice morning to enjoy the sunrise. &nbsp;Did not get a second run in yesterday as I hoped. &nbsp;Instead we had a picnic dinner with my grand daughter on the Milton Green whilst my daughter conducted a yoga class for new moms. &nbsp; Turned out to be a much more enjoyable option over a second run. &nbsp;</p> Wed, 09 Jun 2021 06:00:00 Tue, Jun 08, 2021 http://Bret.fastrunningblog.com/blog-06-08-2021.html <p>AM - just 3.5 miles in the mist/drizzle - tropical-like weather today. &nbsp;Busy morning schedule, will try to get some more miles later.&nbsp;</p> Tue, 08 Jun 2021 06:00:00 Mon, Jun 07, 2021 http://Bret.fastrunningblog.com/blog-06-07-2021.html <p>AM - just under 6 miles with Finn on a very muggy humid and drizzly morning.&nbsp;</p> Mon, 07 Jun 2021 06:00:00 Sun, Jun 06, 2021 http://Bret.fastrunningblog.com/blog-06-06-2021.html <p>AM - 5.75 miles with the guys and the dogs at sunrise. &nbsp;Finn decided we were finished before we were actually done. &nbsp;It was quite humid and warm and he seemed to know he needed some water. &nbsp;</p> Sun, 06 Jun 2021 06:00:00 Sat, Jun 05, 2021 http://Bret.fastrunningblog.com/blog-06-05-2021.html <p>AM - warm humid morning - met Greg at the Alpharetta Greenway - ran with the dogs. &nbsp;</p> Sat, 05 Jun 2021 06:00:00 Fri, Jun 04, 2021 http://Bret.fastrunningblog.com/blog-06-04-2021.html <p>AM - 5.75 miles with Finn - nice late spring/early summer - warm misty morning.&nbsp;</p> Fri, 04 Jun 2021 06:00:00 Thu, Jun 03, 2021 http://Bret.fastrunningblog.com/blog-06-03-2021.html <p>AM - 5 miles with Finn before my workday started.&nbsp;</p> Thu, 03 Jun 2021 06:00:00 Wed, Jun 02, 2021 http://Bret.fastrunningblog.com/blog-06-02-2021.html <p>AM - 10k with Finn before my workday. &nbsp; Dan is on vacation this week and then next week he starts a new job out of state and will be moving to Virginia Bch and commuting on a weekly basis until permanently relocating....So our runs together&nbsp;&nbsp;will be few and numbered&nbsp;before he relocates toward the end of the Summer. &nbsp;He&#39;s been a great training partner and friend. &nbsp;&nbsp;</p> Wed, 02 Jun 2021 06:00:00 Tue, Jun 01, 2021 http://Bret.fastrunningblog.com/blog-06-01-2021.html <p>AM - 5 miles with Finn back at home.&nbsp;</p> Tue, 01 Jun 2021 06:00:00 Mon, May 31, 2021 http://Bret.fastrunningblog.com/blog-05-31-2021.html <p>AM - 5 miles with Riley in the rain on her birthday before we head home. &nbsp;</p> Mon, 31 May 2021 06:00:00 Sun, May 30, 2021 http://Bret.fastrunningblog.com/blog-05-30-2021.html <p>AM - 7.25 miles from Cleveland Circle to Boylston on Beacon. &nbsp;Basically the last 3.5 miles of the Boston marathon course. &nbsp;Cold amd windy going into town. &nbsp;Rain started up again as I finished.&nbsp;</p> Sun, 30 May 2021 06:00:00 Sat, May 29, 2021 http://Bret.fastrunningblog.com/blog-05-29-2021.html <p>AM - 8 miles in a cold rain, quite windy. &nbsp;Ran out Commonwealth Ave - reverse heartbreak hill and then back - but not to the bottom as Riley texted me to run back to her place to run a few miles with her. &nbsp;</p> Sat, 29 May 2021 06:00:00 Fri, May 28, 2021 http://Bret.fastrunningblog.com/blog-05-28-2021.html <p>AM - 8.75 miles around Boston near BC and the Chesnut Hill Reservoir - commencement ceremonies later - met Riley for a short part of the end of this run. &nbsp;</p> Fri, 28 May 2021 06:00:00 Thu, May 27, 2021 http://Bret.fastrunningblog.com/blog-05-27-2021.html <p>AM - just under 4.75 miles on the trails with Dan and the dogs. &nbsp;Heading up to Boston this afternoon for Riley&#39;s law school graduation tomorrow.&nbsp;</p> Thu, 27 May 2021 06:00:00 Wed, May 26, 2021 http://Bret.fastrunningblog.com/blog-05-26-2021.html <p>AM - 6 miles with Dan and the dogs.&nbsp;</p> Wed, 26 May 2021 06:00:00 Tue, May 25, 2021 http://Bret.fastrunningblog.com/blog-05-25-2021.html <p>AM - 5.5 or so miles with Dan and Finn - a bit faster than usual as Dan ran without Rosie this morning. &nbsp; Day 450 of my running streak. &nbsp;</p> Tue, 25 May 2021 06:00:00 Mon, May 24, 2021 http://Bret.fastrunningblog.com/blog-05-24-2021.html <p>AM- 5.25 miles with Dan and the dogs at an easy pace.</p> Mon, 24 May 2021 06:00:00