Fast Running Blog
April 27, 2024, 04:05:07 pm *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: SMF - Just Installed!

Home   Help Search Calendar Login Register FAST RUNNING BLOG  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Sept. 17th - 7 years since Paul Cummings death  (Read 4956 times)
Burt McCumber
Posting Member

« on: September 17, 2008, 12:23:01 pm »

Today marks seven years since Paul Cummings died after his fishing boat capsized.  I was thinking about him the other day and wondering what ever happened to him.  So I googled him and found out from wikepedia.com that he drowned 7 years ago.  I thought, "How sad.  I wonder if any of the bloggers knew him."  (I assume it's true because wikepedia is the source of all truth and knowledge on this earth.)
I remember when I was a sophomore in high school and he came to speak at a church youth fireside.  I don't think anyone else was as excited to see him as I was.  At that time I was struggling with shin splints, so I went up to him afterwards and asked him what to do about them.  He asked me where they hurt and then he grabbed my shins.  I was so excited.  "Paul Cummings is grabbing my shins."
Anyways, if anyone has any memories of him, I'd like to hear them.
Dave Holt
Posting Member

« Reply #1 on: September 17, 2008, 12:52:00 pm »

In high school I went to his running camp in Park City (also with Ed Eystone and Paul Pilkington - Pilkington had just won the LA Marathon, so that was cool).  It was neat running with them and getting their advice in classes and in one-on-one sessions.  Then at State XC that next fall, I distinctly remember all three of them cheering very loudly for my main competitor as we pushed around the course (of course it was Scott Cummings, Paul's son, so I can't hold it against them that they didn't cheer for me!)  A good man... that was a sad day for the running community.
Superfly
Frequently Posting Member