Fast Running Blog
March 28, 2024, 12:48:23 pm *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: SMF - Just Installed!

Home   Help Search Calendar Login Register FAST RUNNING BLOG  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Increasing Mileage and Speed Work  (Read 9941 times)
Becky
Lurker

« on: January 24, 2013, 09:00:27 pm »

I have been running for three years now. I have done several HM and two fulls. I really want to qualify for Boston (who doesn't?). My issue has  been injuries. My first training program I ran 6 days a week but jumped from a 5k to a marathon. I had serious issues with my hip and ended up being laid up for four months and doing PT. Last year, I went to a three day a week running program with cross training on off days. I did speed, tempo, and long. A month before race day, I developed terrible shin splins. After the fact, they thought there was a stress fracture so I had to take another two months off. I don't know how much I should be running and what is going to keep me healthy. I also am not sure what my speed goals should be for tempo and speed. Any help would be appreciated.
Chad Robinson
Lurker

« Reply #1 on: January 25, 2013, 09:48:14 am »

In the simplest of terms 6 days a week easy and only as much as you can fully recover from.  Slowly increase the mileage over time and only remind your body how to run fast in small doses.  I would guess that at this point of your training that being able maintain relatively higher mileage weeks would yield you substantial improvement.
Matthew Rowley
Vocal Lurker

« Reply #2 on: January 25, 2013, 01:13:58 pm »