Fast Running Blog
June 25, 2024, 06:07:53 pm *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: SMF - Just Installed!

Home   Help Search Calendar Login Register FAST RUNNING BLOG  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Tangents  (Read 5844 times)
Carolyn Herlin
Lurker

« on: August 13, 2008, 09:57:25 am »

I read advice in another thread to run tangents. As a newbie, I don't know what that means. Can someone explain?

Thanks,
Carolyn
Paul Petersen
Cyber Boltun

« Reply #1 on: August 13, 2008, 10:17:48 am »

It's a very important concept. Courses are measured using the shortest possible distance. See articles below for explanations and diagrams:

http://www.runninginjuryfree.org/tangents.html
http://www.runningonline.com/zine/Race_Day/117.sht
Carolyn Herlin
Lurker

« Reply #2 on: August 13, 2008, 10:26:41 am »

Makes sense. Thanks!
Scott Zincone
Posting Member

« Reply #3 on: August 13, 2008, 08:20:34 pm »

In regards to the article on the second link Paul gave, when watching the U.S. Trials a couple of months ago I wondered about the 800 runners.  They seemed to immediately cut over instead of doing it gradually.  They are the best we got, so how come they run such bad tangents ?

Jon Allen
Cyber Boltun

« Reply #4 on: August 13, 2008, 08:31:24 pm »

It's not all about distance on the track, since the difference is at most a few meters for their tangent.  In track, there is a lot of positioning in the group.  You don't want to be on the outside and have to run the race in lane 2 or 3.  So one bad tangent is better than being stuck in an outside lane for a couple of turns. 
Scott Zincone
Posting Member

« Reply #5 on: August 13, 2008, 08:34:43 pm »

Good explanation.

adam
Frequently Posting Member

« Reply #6 on: August 13, 2008, 11:00:37 pm »

That's true for the 1500m as well, and other races towards the finish (where swinging wide can give you clear track).