Fast Running Blog
June 21, 2024, 12:10:18 am *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: SMF - Just Installed!

Home   Help Search Calendar Login Register FAST RUNNING BLOG  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Training for St George Marathon?  (Read 3678 times)
ktjo
Lurker

« on: April 28, 2009, 12:09:34 pm »

I have been running off and on for about 3 years now, but have not truely pushed myself.  I have been working out at least 5 days a week since January!    I try to run a couple of times a week, but my biggest thing has been teaching a free fitness group three times a week.  I would really like to push myself to a new level not only for myself but to insipre those women I am currently working with. They all need to lose huge amounts of weight and I would like to make a goal that seems impossiable as well for myself.
So I am wondering if I got a spot in the St George marathon would it be possiable to finish it in 6 hours or less with only 5 months of training? What do I need to do?     
Sasha Pachev
Administrator
Cyber Boltun

« Reply #1 on: April 28, 2009, 01:07:50 pm »

Katie:

You have enough natural speed to break 5 hours with very limited training. However, I would not recommend it given your injury history. Rather, focus on running a half marathon under 2:10. Once you've reached that goal, start thinking about the marathon. With proper training for a year you can run around 4:00.
Dallen
Posting Member

« Reply #2 on: April 28, 2009, 03:33:48 pm »

Saha make a good point. There are a lot of 18 and 24 week programs out there, but they fail to mention that a large percentage of people never make it to the race due to injury. You say that you have been "on and off" for 3 years. If there was a lot of "on" then you are more likey to succeed. Either way, just about anyone who adequately tries to break 5 hours can.
ktjo
Lurker

« Reply #3 on: April 28, 2009, 10:47:33 pm »