Fast Running Blog
May 15, 2024, 05:47:15 pm *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: SMF - Just Installed!

Home   Help Search Calendar Login Register FAST RUNNING BLOG  
Poll
Question: How accurate does your mileage have to be?
Mileage? I’m a free spirit.
Nearest mile is fine.
Round to the half mile.
Whatever my Garmin tells me.
I don’t run a step unless it is on a track.

Pages: [1] 2 3
  Print  
Author Topic: Mileage  (Read 15177 times)
Adam R Wende
Frequently Posting Member

« on: December 06, 2007, 09:26:07 am »

I’ve had this discussion with a few people and thought it might strike up some conversation. I know I used to be a watch runner and never really logged mileage just time. Then I started training seriously and ran the same “metered” loops every day. Then I got a Garmin and went crazy. However, I’ve noticed I’ve also become somewhat of a gadget slave, circling at the end of runs to get to that next mile mark… What about you?
Jon Allen
Cyber Boltun

« Reply #1 on: December 06, 2007, 09:40:18 am »

I'm not at all a GPS guy, and firmly believe that many runners (some on this blog) put too much faith in the accuracy of those gadgets.  Paul is somewhat an expert on this matter, and he will tell you that the accuracy is not down to 0.01 miles.  I chuckle everytime I see someone complain in a race report that a 5k was long since their garmin reported the milage as 3.14 or something like that.  I've also had runs where GPS people I was with looped around the parking lot for 10 extra seconds just to get to the "round number", thinking it somehow made the run more official.