Fast Running Blog
May 13, 2024, 04:54:18 pm *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: SMF - Just Installed!

Home   Help Search Calendar Login Register FAST RUNNING BLOG  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Marathon Training: XT days  (Read 2880 times)
WhoIsRunnerGirl
Lurker

« on: July 05, 2008, 08:33:04 am »

I just started training for the Chicago Marathon and it's my first so I'm not sure what is the best day to handle my off days. You can see my training schedule here http://whoisrunnergirl.com/?page_id=12

Right now, I do 25 min of yoga before or after a run and I'm thinking of doing an hour and 15 minutes of yoga on days that I don't run since it's less intense than a different cardio that would take 45 min for a good workout. Should I only do yoga on off days or should i find a different XT that raises my heart rate more?

Thanks for your advice!
whoisrunnergirl.com
Sasha Pachev
Administrator
Cyber Boltun

« Reply #1 on: July 07, 2008, 11:10:28 am »

I noticed something odd about the plan. There is a lot of high intensity running and not nearly enough aerobic conditioning. This is a good training plan for a 5 K for a runner than responds to speed work. It may also work well for a triathlete that is training for the Olympic distance. But it is a less than ideal program for a marathon for any runner, well aerobically conditioned or not.