Fast Running Blog
May 03, 2024, 04:37:50 pm *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: SMF - Just Installed!

Home   Help Search Calendar Login Register FAST RUNNING BLOG  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Marathon training plan  (Read 3215 times)
April G
Posting Member

« on: August 19, 2010, 11:00:32 am »

I am looking at running two marathons, one October 10th and Houston on January 30th.  For the upcoming fall marathon, it is an experiment of sorts since I have done speedwork and hill repeats, something I have never done in training before.  I am interesting to see if this benefits me.  If it doesn't help much, I plan to focus more on threshold pace and marathon pace, which led me to a 3:18 and a 15 minute PR at my last marathon.  I seem to do well at 60 miles a week and can get away with just about anything without getting injured, but need to be careful if I climb closer to 70 miles a week.  I have several questions.  1)What time should I aim for in the marathons? I was thinking sub 3:10 in October but would have been fantasizing about dancing close to 3:00 in January.  Am I fooling myself with too ambitious of goals?  I feel these are possible yet challenging if I train right. 2)Two marathons too close together? 3)Any adjustments to the current training plan which basically consists of easy runs, as much mileage as I can squeeze in my busy schedule, and one long run a week.  I also do speedwork once a week and hillwork once a week, although there have been several weeks where I only did one or the other.  I do intend to start closing my long runs with marathon pace miles.  Any input would be much appreciated!  Also, weather conditions while training for January could get very cold and difficult here, which may banish me to the treadmill when I want to hit certain speeds, something to keep in mind when thinking of training.
Chris M
Lurker

« Reply #1 on: August 19, 2010, 01:31:01 pm »