Fast Running Blog
May 12, 2024, 08:39:41 pm *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: SMF - Just Installed!

Home   Help Search Calendar Login Register FAST RUNNING BLOG  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: starting running over.  (Read 2320 times)
kevin marinkovich
Lurker

« on: June 22, 2011, 07:43:00 am »

I have been running for about 5 years now and am thinking of starting my running from scratch again.  I have been thinking about this for some time now and I am coming off of a few injuries and it seems it is a perfect time to start over.   I started running to quit smoking and it snowballed from there. I have ran every distance from 5k to marathon and even have done Ironman distance triathlons.  But, I have never been that "fast". I am thinking on moving back to 5k-10k distance and focusing on that distance to get faster and then progress to longer distances. I think initially I was always trying to go longer and longer and didn't focus on quality training and speed. I am thinking it would take some amount of time and am willing to do it. Has anyone done this?  Any experience with time and how exactly how to approach something like this.  I was just trying to get some other thoughts on what others would think of this. Thanks in advance.
Jon Allen
Cyber Boltun

« Reply #1 on: June 22, 2011, 09:08:49 pm »

Kevin- I think that is a great goal.  Runners too often focus only on the marathon, forgetting how hard it is to PR at shorter distances, as well (like 5k, 10k).