Fast Running Blog
May 10, 2024, 03:39:17 pm *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: SMF - Just Installed!

Home   Help Search Calendar Login Register FAST RUNNING BLOG  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: nauseated?  (Read 3552 times)
Sarah
Lurker

« on: May 08, 2010, 01:55:31 pm »

O.K. I have a problem...I'm nauseated off an on all day for about the past two weeks.  A blood test said I wasn't pregnant.  Someone mentioned that maybe I wasn't eating enough because I have been running long runs getting ready for the Ogden marathon.  I've been eating more but it's not helping.

Is there maybe a certain type of food that maybe will help?  Any ideas?  Any ideas on tests I should ask my doctor to do (besides another pregnancy test, lol).

Steve P
Posting Member

« Reply #1 on: May 08, 2010, 04:11:33 pm »

I'm no doctor but runners often have troubles with low iron, so that could be a possibility.
Adele Kimbrough
Lurker

« Reply #2 on: May 08, 2010, 11:09:43 pm »

Are you taking vitamins?  I get nauseated if I take a multi-vitamin pill on an empty stomach, so now I make sure to take it with a meal.  My daughter has it worse than me and will be nauseated for several hours if she takes one without a decent amount of food.  (She also had the same problem a couple years ago when a doctor told her to start taking zinc supplements, except she got so nauseated from them she started throwing up.)  Hope you feel better soon & good luck with the marathon.
Chris M
Lurker

« Reply #3 on: May 10, 2010, 04:33:45 am »

I would second the iron possibility, especially if you are running more since you break down the red blood cells thorugh the impact, also women generally need more iron anyway. Red meat and brocolli is good, also I believe drinking orange juice with meals helps the iron be absorbed into the body?