Fast Running Blog
May 15, 2024, 06:01:39 pm *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: SMF - Just Installed!

Home   Help Search Calendar Login Register FAST RUNNING BLOG  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Help me to stop getting hurt  (Read 4187 times)
Spencer Woolston
Lurker

« on: November 09, 2008, 09:10:44 pm »

I was a high school and college athlete and I never got injured.  Now that I am a runner and have started to do decent mileage (I only average about 40-45 a week) I can’t go a month without getting hurt badly enough that I miss runs.  I’ve missed up to 2 weeks at a time.  Most of my injuries are in the area of my lower leg.  I have had calf trouble, achilles trouble, arch pain and pain in tendons that are near the achilles but are definitely not the achilles.  These tendons seem to be next to either side of my achilles. 
Possible contributing factors to my trouble
1.   I am new to running and my body may not be ready for the level of training I am putting it through.  I have been doing 40-45 miles a week for about ten months.  Despite being new to this amount of mileage I have always been active and for a few years leading up to starting my current mileage I ran between 12-20 miles a week.
2.   I have hobbit feet.  I have flat feet that are also unusually large for my height.  I am 6 ft with size 14 shoes.   I wonder if the large flat feet might contribute to problems with the tendons that connect to the foot.   I have two pairs of custom made orthotics from two different doctors that help a lot.  I have used orthotics for over 10 years.
3.   I weigh 200 pounds.  The extra weight probably stresses the ligaments more than the average sized runner.  However I feel like my body should be used to the weight, because 200 lbs is very light compared to my weight throughout my previous adult life since my mission.