Fast Running Blog
May 16, 2024, 01:38:03 am *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: SMF - Just Installed!

Home   Help Search Calendar Login Register FAST RUNNING BLOG  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Ogden Marathon Relay  (Read 4458 times)
Tim
Lurker

« on: March 25, 2008, 04:55:04 pm »

My friends from work signed me up to run the first part of the Ogden Marathon Relay (7 mi).  So about 3 weeks ago I started training.  My weekly mileage is only about 10 mi a week.  What is the best way to train and get my mileage up to where I can be able to run the relay in a decent time? 
Sasha Pachev
Administrator
Cyber Boltun

« Reply #1 on: March 25, 2008, 05:33:45 pm »

Make sure to get out 6 days a week. Still run your usual 3-4 miles. If you feel good after a couple of weeks of that, make it 5 miles a day. Keep the pace comfortable and relaxed, do not force it. How long is your leg in the relay?
Tim
Lurker

« Reply #2 on: March 25, 2008, 08:22:31 pm »

I have the first part which is 7 miles.  I'm hoping to be able to run it at 7 min pace.
Michelle Lowry
Frequently Posting Member

« Reply #3 on: March 27, 2008, 07:49:06 pm »

I agree with Sasha, of course.  I would work up your miles gradually as well (about 10% a week), and designate one day as your long run day.  It seems 4 miles is the longest you have done in recent history.  If so, then increase that for your weekly long run by .5-1 mile a week, but make your long run nice and easy.  You can do strides on easier runs or the long run, with plenty of rest in between.  From what I remember, the first 7 miles of Ogden is downhill, so some downhill running may help you.  Find a stretch of downhill you can train on once a week, and do strides downhill to get a feel for faster downhill running. 
Sasha Pachev
Administrator
Cyber Boltun

« Reply #4 on: March 28, 2008, 12:18:33 pm »