Fast Running Blog
May 16, 2024, 01:35:43 am *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: SMF - Just Installed!

Home   Help Search Calendar Login Register FAST RUNNING BLOG  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Push through or back off?  (Read 3328 times)
Traci
Lurker

« on: October 14, 2009, 08:03:10 am »

I am training for my first marathon. I am a novice runner at best. I train with a group of competitive runners, which keeps me motivated, but has also taken me from a base of 10 miles per week 3 months ago to 45 miles last week. They are all training for the Mountain Mist 50k here in Alabama. As part of their training they are running a half and a full marathon in the upcoming months. I started out just training for the half, but got to 13.5 miles easily, so thought I'd try for the full. I run slowly, but did my first 18 this Saturday. I have handled the additional miles well and without injury. The only problem is that my legs are exhausted and my feet ache all the time. No specific injury, just fatigue I think. My question is....do I keep pushing through with my training, do I take some time off, do I back of my miles or my pace? I don't want to end up injured, but also don't want to use fatigue as an excuse not to run. Any advice?
Jon Allen
Cyber Boltun

« Reply #1 on: October 14, 2009, 08:16:02 am »

If you are feeling that bad, it is your body warning you that you are pushing it more than you are ready.  Back off, take a little time off, then start going again and see how you feel.  If you push through, you will likely end up injured or burnt out.  As for the marathon- there is a big, big difference between one successful 18 mile run and a marathon.  I would suggest building up a lot more before you do a marathon- do it right the first time rather than suffering for a marathon.

Read this post:
http://fastrunningblog.com/forum/index.php/topic,1177.0.html
Sasha Pachev
Administrator
Cyber Boltun