Fast Running Blog
May 16, 2024, 01:48:50 am *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: SMF - Just Installed!

Home   Help Search Calendar Login Register FAST RUNNING BLOG  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Now What?  (Read 4186 times)
Spencer
Lurker

« on: May 13, 2009, 10:45:33 am »

Now What?
That really is my question, what do I do now? How do I train? How much, how far, how often, what type of training do I use? I ran my first marathon in 06 (SLC) then stopped running, I started running aging to train for the 07 SLC marathon, then stopped running. I started training for the 09 SLC marathon in Aug of 08. All three marathons I have used the training program found on Marathontraining.com  it seemed as good as any. I have not varied my training much ie: no speed work, I just get out and run.  SO NOW AFTER RUNNING THE  09 SLC MARATHON I WANT TO NOT ONLY STAY ON TOP OF MY TRAINING BUT PROGRESS ON FROM HERE. HOW DO I DO THAT? 
My Goal :
Is to Qualify for the Boston, then just keep running long term. The Boston qualifying time for me that is a finishing time of 3:20. I would like to qualify during the California International Marathon (CIM) in Sacramento Dec 6th 2009. But I just got into St George so maybe I could do it there.
Do I run other marathons between now and then?  Or do I just train (daily running) I really have no clue as to how to maintain what I have built for myself. I am like the dog that finally catches the car, now what do I do with it? I have always ran with a goal in mind and a schedule taped to my wall so I would know what I was running every day. Currently I have nothing taped to my wall. Its just not right.
My Stats: