Fast Running Blog
May 10, 2024, 08:32:14 am *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: SMF - Just Installed!

Home   Help Search Calendar Login Register FAST RUNNING BLOG  
Pages: [1] 2
  Print  
Author Topic: anything wrong with all long runs?  (Read 10160 times)
Rick
Lurker

« on: February 21, 2010, 02:22:12 pm »

Looking for advice from you experts. I've been running for three years, and have done 5 marathons. Would like to qualify for Boston in the next year or so, but I am about 16 mins too slow, at last race. I was recently reading web pages on how to do a faster marathon, and found the one at RunningTimes ( http://runningtimes.com/Article.aspx?ArticleID=4835 ) that said you should do more long runs and faster, to speed up. That makes a lot of sense, to me, so I have been doing all my runs longer than I used to. I'm currently doing something like 4 or 5 runs a week, ranging from 9 to 20 miles per run. I try to do the last 5-6 miles at hoped-for-marathon pace (8:14) or faster. So, my plan for the next month or so is to maybe do 15, 15, 9, and 20 mile runs each week, giving me 3 rest days per week. The nice thing about doing lots of my runs longer is that even when I am tired at the beginning of the run, after about 7 or 8 miles I start to feel much better, and the running gets easier, even if I start to speed up.
Does this sound like a plan, or just plain stupid?
thanks
Jon Allen
Cyber Boltun

« Reply #1 on: February 21, 2010, 03:36:17 pm »

Rick- it's a bit hard to comment on this since we can't see any of your running history.  But, based on my reading of that article, I think you misunderstood a few points of the article.