Fast Running Blog
May 10, 2024, 12:13:26 pm *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: SMF - Just Installed!

Home   Help Search Calendar Login Register FAST RUNNING BLOG  
Pages: [1] 2
  Print  
Author Topic: IT Band Syndrome Diagnosis and Treatment  (Read 19823 times)
Cody Draper
Vocal Lurker

« on: November 05, 2007, 09:42:07 pm »

I have decided to consolidate (taken from the Fastrunning blog) some common running injuries to the discussion board.  So here we are at Volume 1 - ITBS (Iliotibital Band Sydrome)
I am no expert on this topic and I am certainly not a doctor.  I DO have symptoms of this injury so I will be happy to relate what I have learned.
DIAGNOSIS

* Excessive friction between your Iliotibial Band and your knee (or hip) bone.
    * This causes a sharp pain at either the side of your knee or the side of your hip.
    * Usually caused by increasing your running or biking too fast and/or with bad form.
    * But is also associated with weight-lifting (standing squats), court sports (raquetball, tennis, handball, etc) and even pregnancy.
    * Most commonly occurs in one or both knees (see diagram at left), but can also appear at the hip joint. This is not uncommon at pregnancy, where the tendons loosen a bit and the weight distribution shifts.  I’ve never heard of any hip-specific exercises or stretches, but think the general ones should help at the hip as well. (http://www.itbs.info/html/what_is_itbs.html)

CAUSES
   (http://www.itbs.info/html/causes.html)
   1. Leg length differences
   2. Road camber - running on a slope for a long time
   3. Foot structure
   4. Excessive shoe breakdown - particularly it the outside of the heel
   5. Training intensity errors - increasing mileage or intensity too fast
   6. Muscle imbalances - particularly quads versus hamstrings
   7. Run/gait style factors - e.g. bow-leggedness, knock knees, etc.

Treatments
   (http://www.itbs.info/html/treatments.html)