Fast Running Blog
May 17, 2024, 09:42:55 am *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: SMF - Just Installed!

Home   Help Search Calendar Login Register FAST RUNNING BLOG  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: I'm just a beginner...  (Read 4174 times)
Darren Tintle
Lurker

« on: July 24, 2008, 07:17:34 pm »

Hello all, I am brand new to this site.  My wife's uncle and aunt got me started on this site and here I am posting already.  I just wanted to post a quick background of my running and maybe get some advice, motivation, etc. from those of you "so-so" runners. 

I have never been a runner.  I always dreaded running.  I still do sometimes.  A year ago today I had never run more than one mile or so at one time.  I definately don't have running genes.  But what I do have is determination.

Last summer my brother talked me into training for a half marathon.  I had no idea of what I was getting myself into.  Perhaps a life-changing experience/turnaround? 

The training was brutal... BUT, I was more than pleased with the results.  I started around 215 pounds and ended around 190 when I finished my first half-marathon.  I finished in exactly 2:11:00 (exactly 10 minute miles).  I was actually extremely happy just to finish the race.  But almost more than that, I was happy with the way I looked physically and running and being in shape just made me a happier person.

Here I am, a year later, training for my second half-marathon (the Top of Utah Half Marathon) on August 23.  Only this time I peaked at 226 pounds (the most I'ver EVER weighed).  I guess the run last summer really did me in, and I pounded the weight back on.  However, I'm currently at about 205 (about 21 pounds lost) and well on my way to running my second half-marathon.