Fast Running Blog
June 28, 2024, 01:49:33 pm *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: SMF - Just Installed!

Home   Help Search Calendar Login Register FAST RUNNING BLOG  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Relay Race Help  (Read 2338 times)
Scott
Lurker

« on: August 10, 2011, 07:44:30 pm »

I'm a late addition to a 12-person relay team.  The race begins on Friday and is 200 miles long. 

I've never been involved in a relay before.  I don't think speed is an issue for this group (I only know the one person that asked me to run) and its more of a fun run.  I will have three legs, totally about 20 miles, I believe.

As I am a newbie, can anyone tell me 1) how to run these legs - do I run like I'm racing? do I try to pace myself to ensure decent strength for the 3 legs? etc.; 2) what should I expect (should I change to fresh clothes after each leg? sleeping? eating? etc.).

I know it's late notice, but any information would be helpful.  Thank you!
Gary Culver
Lurker

« Reply #1 on: August 10, 2011, 10:58:40 pm »

How hard you run depends on your level of fitness... Is 20 miles a lot for you?  If so, do a walk/run from the start, i.e., run 4 minutes, walk 1 or run 4:30, walk 0:30... this will allow you to run semi-hard yet save your legs.. I usually go almost as fast as I can on all legs, with walk breaks per above... (I'm 58 and average a bit faster than 9mpm) .. walk for a mile or so and throughly stretch after each leg.. ask if you have a team masseuse (rare) or if someone is bringing a massage stick .. or self massage after each leg...

You may want to carry a water bottle or team may stop every few miles to provide a drink.. talk about drink strategy in advance.. make sure team knows when you expect a drink if not carrying your own.