Fast Running Blog
June 30, 2024, 01:11:08 pm *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: SMF - Just Installed!

Home   Help Search Calendar Login Register FAST RUNNING BLOG  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Newbie Runner Needs Advice  (Read 3086 times)
Mike Clarke
Lurker

« on: January 18, 2010, 11:08:28 pm »

Hello All,
I am new to this blog community and thankful to have joined you all.  I've a 39year old male and have been running for about 9 months.  I've dropped 40lbs in the last year and just finished my 2nd half in 1:48:59.  I've read a number of running books and the one that I have been following the novice program in Hal Higdon's "Ultimate Training Guide" which has me running 25-40miles per week leading up to my first full in March at the Atlanta ING.  A lot of what I've read from you all is that high mileage is going to be the key to the type of success I"m after in the long term.  If I'm only running 30-40miles a week now, when and how much should I go up in mileage to increase my performance.   I've read so much and am very confused about where I should take my training after running my first full.  Any and all help would be much appreciated.  Boston is on my radar but not sure how long it will take me to get there.
Matthew Rowley
Vocal Lurker

« Reply #1 on: January 19, 2010, 08:02:18 am »

Welcome the the blog and the running community.  I have a few Ideas and warnings for you.