Fast Running Blog
March 28, 2024, 02:51:57 pm *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: SMF - Just Installed!

Home   Help Search Calendar Login Register FAST RUNNING BLOG  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Asics and blisters!!  (Read 17299 times)
dave rockness
Posting Member

« on: October 17, 2011, 03:40:10 pm »

I need insight on a blister issue.  I have been averaging 60-70 miles of running for the past 3 years.  During this stretch I have never experienced a blister issue.  Just last week I purchased a pair of Asic DS-Trainer 16's (10 ounces), a shoe I have never worn before.  On my first run, I felt a bit of a "hotfoot" by mile 3.  I stopped twice to take off shoes and let my foot calm down- ran 8 miles total.  A couple of days later I ran at marathon pace for 3 miles- they felt a little better, yet were still a tad bit "hot".  Then I Saturday I ran a marathon in the same shoes and developed a blister by mile 6 (thus running 20 miles with a blister the size of a silver dollar- ouch!).  In each of my runs, sweating really wasn't an issue and the fit seemed to be perfect. 

So, here's my dilemma...I love the fit and feel (cushioning/support) of the shoes, so was it a matter of them not being broken in, the switch to a new brand, something in my running style and shoe, a need to experiment w/different socks (same wicking socks I always wear), a combination of factors, or just bad luck? 
Jake Krong
Posting Member

« Reply #1 on: October 17, 2011, 04:38:07 pm »