Fast Running Blog
March 28, 2024, 04:59:04 pm *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: SMF - Just Installed!

Home   Help Search Calendar Login Register FAST RUNNING BLOG  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Getting Faster  (Read 8329 times)
Run4MS
Lurker

« on: June 29, 2011, 12:10:12 pm »

I am fairly new to the running community and have been running for the past 4 years and just finished the Grandma's Marathon on June 18th.  I ran it in 2:39:18 which is a hugh PR for me considering my other marathon times:

Chicago 08' (4:24)
Green Bay 09' (3:05)
Boston 2010 (2:54)
Grandma's 2011 (2:39)

I get my motivation to just be the best runner/person that I can be and I run for my family and for the awareness of MS.

I was wondering if anyone would have any advice on what I should do to keep getting faster and hopefully one day run as fast as some of the local elites!!!  I think I have a somewhat decent endurance base but not real good speed base.  I don't really know a lot about training as my training programs are just me putting in a recent 5k time into the RunnersWorld "SmartCoach" and just do that, which is running 6 days a week, 1 speed or temp day, and long run on sunday.  I am still pretty lost with training as I did not run in High School or college.  I have been reading a ton of your blog posts, but I don't know enough as to what to do.

I would appreciate any thoughts or advice.

Joe Furse
Posting Member

« Reply #1 on: June 29, 2011, 02:42:40 pm »

Hi, and welcome to the Blog!  And nice job on the PR!  That's a solid time.

Seeing that you've only been on the blog for a couple of days and so we can't see much of a history on your training, I can't say a whole lot, but here are a couple of things.

1) If you want to increase your speed in the marathon, once you have solid base mileage, I'd highly recommend trying the suggestions in this thread: